14 Comments

I agree with the article I posted below. As wise Cindy referred to the fact, some of the loneliest people I know have a spouse & others. So we can't state abundance as being the answer...or can we? Abundance of mere people will not fill the God shaped hole in man's heart. Fame, $, power ect has proven no fill for that aching void either. I think the opposite is abundance not in having people in your life, but having first the abundance of the Holy Spirit. To know you are never alone. To know God does his best work on those He sends away from others to be with just Him. To know that HE keeps every promise & promises to never forake you but always be with you. To know not only the abundance of His spirit within you but also the abundance of HIM, His purposes, His will, His desires, His plan for your life. For being part of the body of Christ whether a finger or the poop chute, you can never separate yourself from JC or His body. The abundance of that purpose and attachment makes you filled to the brim with HIM. Xo Mad respect for you for hearing me out even that you didn't watch the flix. That boggles my brain. I will not harass you in love again but you ask stuff like this....you know I'm bringing up J.C. in DA HOOOOUSE!!

Expand full comment
author

Amen sister, amen!

Expand full comment

To me, loneliness is a fear. When we begin to feel the feeling of “loneliness,” then I think it’s important to sit with it, without the distractions of picking up the phone to text someone, scrolling Instagram, or watching Netflix.

The un-easiness feeling that crops up is signaling a fear that you need to sit with to and see what’s on the other side. This is uncomfortable, at first.

In my opinion, people who don’t experience as much loneliness are people who have done some internal work and are comfortable enough to sit with themselves. They have self love. They have faced their demons and aren’t running. So the opposite of loneliness, to me, is contentment-with a side of surrender. Aka one is ok with being with themselves or with others. Ok with feeling content or uneasy. And, in a deeper sense, they can surrender to that uneasy feeling that brings them back to “everything is perfect just as it is,” and “I am enough.”

Expand full comment

You know my VERY rough around the edges, don't give a damn spirit is going to have to bring up "the name we do not mention". You know I haven't a clue what Harry P character that is and I mean J.C.! This tiny article gave a perfect def of lonely. https://www.christianity.com/wiki/bible/what-does-the-bible-say-about-loneliness.html

Expand full comment
author

I like the part that says "Loneliness is a state of mind characterized by a dissociation between what an individual wants or expects from their relationships or social interactions and what that individual experiences in their relationships or social interactions.”

Not bad! I wonder if there are any lonely Christians?

Expand full comment

Right!!! That definition NAILED IT! I would say more Christians than non Christians suffer from being plagued with both short and long episodes of loneliness. I would explain why....but it would make your brain explode and me sound nuts. I could give a damn about appearing nuts to those who don't understand what and why I would say what I would. But think the world needs your head in one piece. 😜

Expand full comment

To me, I think "loneliness" is a painful unsettled feeling and not necessarily felt only while alone (you can be alone in a group of people), so the opposite would be something that would feel good - like, being in a community or a family of people where you feel comfortable, secure, loved, and can be yourself. Great question!

Expand full comment
author

"unsettled" is a good word...it is almost an emptiness...maybe just "sadness"?

Expand full comment

Contentment

Expand full comment

Connectedness

Expand full comment
author

What is the feeling of connectedness? Loneliness is a feeling (I think) and trying to land on the opposite feeling...or maybe, how do we know when we are connected?

Expand full comment

To me, connectedness is a shared bond and or feelings. Shared experiences or feelings like with old friends, and shared/mutual opinions of those experiences. Shared morals, desires, respect, appreciation, admiration, any of those things or more. That to me is the opposite of loneliness.

Expand full comment

Overwhelmed?

Expand full comment
author

I guess overwhelm is a feeling of anxiety? Stress?

Expand full comment